A year at Whistling Woods International by #WWIStudent Leah Gomes

When i graduated from high school, i was like every other 17 year old, in a big world with dreams to accomplish. All through my life at Rajhans Vidyalaya I had the support and the freedom to “Do What I Love.” I was very fortunate to find a college that let me do the same.

This past year at Whistling Woods International has been unbelievable, from the faculty to the staff and also the students, they have all played a very important role in making my journey so special.

A third of the way into my course, this institute has given me opportunities that I never thought I would get during my college life. Guest lectures with the top names from the industry, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, Ayan Mukerji, Vikramaditya Motvane, Nikhil Advani, Ranveer Singh, Huma Qureshi, Anupam Kher, Vishal Bharadwaj and so many more.

I could not have imagined that I would have this strong a connection with an institute that I have been studying at for just over a year. Whistling Woods is a family, where friends are like your siblings and the faculty and staff aren’t just your teachers, but your mentors and your friends. I know I can approach even the heads of departments if need be, and they won’t have a problem with it. They are always there for me and all the other students.

Sleepless nights, 14 hour non-stop prep work on group assignments, celebrity interviews, event break downs, studio recordings, brand creations and a lot of submissions later, I realised that I had learnt so much in 365 days, all because of every heart and soul at Whistling Woods.

I will cherish the memories of this past year for a lifetime. I have made friends from all over the country, who share the same passion as me. I have met and interacted with faculty who have always been there for me.

At the beginning of this calendar year, ‘Inbox ’14’ took place which brought out the energy, the creativity, the hard work, the prep, the support, the madness and yes it was a learning experience. Pulling off a successful event for the first time is a feeling I will never forget, the perfect icing on the cake. The cherry on top you ask? Winning the Championship.

Celebrate Cinema by Whistling Woods International, involved a whole lot of running around, late nights, planning and so much more, working with not only my batch mates but my seniors, the MBA and Film Making students and all of the staff and faculty. A two-day event taught us so much, because the best way to learn is practically and WWI believes in that.

One month after my year end exams I walked into the same campus, with a smile on my face because I knew the future is bright.

But now we face the fear of losing a place we call home. Blood, sweat, tears and a lot of hard work has made Whistling Woods what it is today. The management has given WWI everything they have, the faculty make sure we get the best education, the staff are determined to make these the best educational years of our lives and the students are here to learn and grow.

Over a thousand graduates in the industry are products of Whistling Woods. Students like me learning the art at Whistling Woods and so many dreamers are still to experience their best educational years. Is taking this away a smart decision?

I disagree!

The best decision I ever made was to join this institute, to learn, to achieve, to accomplish, and I believe I am on my way to achieve all of those dreams, and, Whistling Woods plays a very important part of my journey.

Why take away the opportunity from all the the other dreamers and believers? Give them what they deserve, an institute that will let them “Do What They Love”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

